The ADDIE Series Part 2: Analysis and Design

I found this article on WordPress and it seems a little out of order because I found it in part of the four parts that will be presented on the ADDIE Series of instructional design. I found it very interesting and informative. I think that as a regular classroom teacher, I get caught up in the everyday routines and trying to refine my teaching without looking at it from a design perspective. I realized that I already do some parts of this design, such as starting with assessment to guide my curriculum, but there are other parts, such as developing learner analysis of all my students that I need to learn how to accurately apply to my instructional design. I really like how this blog breaks it down into simple to understand sections.

The videos that are given on this blog are also very important to me, because I learn best from instructional videos than from just reading an article.

readingthinkinglearning

As we continue on with this four-part series, today we will look closely at the first two phases in this instructional design model.

Image from: www.clipartpanda.com Image from: http://www.clipartpanda.com

Analysis

The first step of the ADDIE model is analysis. During this phase, the instructional designer looks closely at the content and the audience. According to Hodell (2011), there are 7 key elements that need to be considered in this phase. These elements include:

  • Identifying the need: What is the reason for this training? Is it an intervention to alleviate a current problem? Is this training a solution to a problem caused by lack of skill or knowledge?
  • Finding the root cause: What is the underlying issue causing this problem that requires training?
  • Identifying the goals of this training: This includes thinking about the reason for the training existing. Hodell (2011) states this is the “rationale for the project” (pg. 37).
  • What information is…

View original post 787 more words

Leave a Reply

